Listen to the new album from ‎Jekalyn Carr!
Listen to the new album from ‎Jekalyn Carr!

JFH Staff Review



Gateway Worship
Wake Up The World



Album length: 14 tracks: 65 minutes, 17 seconds
Street Date: April 8, 2008


Founded in 2000, the Gateway Church has experienced an extraordinary growth in attendance, becoming one of America's most quickly expanding congregations. Their worship team- simply called Gateway Worship- released their first project in 2006 along with a DVD of that particular live set, called Living For You. Now at the start of '08, Gateway Worship hopes to make an impact on the increasingly cluttered praise and worship scene with their sophomore effort, the ambitiously dubbed Wake Up The World.

Opening with "New Doxology," the worship team betrays their primary influence right out of the chute: Hillsong Live. What follows is in much of the same vein of contemporary pop worship, leaving a sense of dj vu when it finally comes to a close. That's not to say some of it isn't pretty, but there's not much to think about below the surface. In a live setting, I'm sure it would be fantastic. But on an iPod or stereo, it grows tedious very quickly.

The album's downfall is its simplicity-- a reliance on building chord progressions and U2-inspired guitar delays that reveals its lack of creativity. After all, how many other bands have used similar production techniques in an attempt to bring about a sense of "epic" worship? It's not necessarily a bad formula; it's just that this release has showed up too late in the game to come across all that inspired.

Still, though, the truths conveyed in its lyricism aren't exactly unwelcome. Lines such as "Lord of my laughter/sovereign in sorrow/prince of my praise" ("God of My Days") certainly have weight; the only problem comes when they're repeated ad nauseum with little variation, female back-up vocals following up to drive the point home, just in case you didn't hear it the first twenty times.

I don't want to sound harsh. It's obvious those at the Gateway Church hold worship in high esteem, but they could definitely use a little downtime to figure out their own unique approach. Otherwise, the spiritual truths they seem set so intently on expounding will only wash over their audience in a vague feeling of "been there, done that." And if that happens, they'll be hard pressed to wake up the neighborhood, let alone the world.

- Review date: 3/5/08, written by John Wofford of Jesusfreakhideout.com


Listen to the New EP from Life UNLTD!

 

. Record Label: Integrity Music
. Album length: 14 tracks: 65 minutes, 17 seconds
. Street Date: April 8, 2008
. Buy It: Amazon.com

  1. New Doxology
  2. New Doxology Anthem
  3. The Lord Reigns
  4. Real
  5. God Of My Days
  6. You Are Good
  7. Alabaster Jar
  8. We Cry Out
  9. Save Me
  10. When I Speak Your Name
  11. We'll Make It Loud
  12. Wake Up The World
  13. Call Your Name
  14. Beautiful
spacer Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics

 

 

go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive

 


(JFH Sponsor Spot)

 

 

           
Listen to the New EP from Life UNLTD!

Search JFH



This Tuesday, October 27, 2020
Heath McNease Notes, Volume 1 - EP (independent)


This Wednesday, October 28, 2020
Andy Mineo Always in a Rush (ft. Mez) - Single [Reach]
Anthony Sallee and Phil Keaggy Blackbird - Single (independent)


This Friday, October 30, 2020
1K Phew Already / Gas You Up - Single [Reach]
Audrey Assad Mortal (Live) - Single (independent)
Mack Brock Your Presence Is A Promise - Single [Capitol CMG]
The Dailys (Jillian Edwards & Ellie Holcomb) Falling Apart - Single [Tone Tree]
DOE DOE - EP [RCA Inspiration]
Ernie Haase & Signature Sound Wake Up - Single [StowTown]
for KING & COUNTRY A Drummer Boy Christmas [Curb/Word]
Koryn Hawthorne & Essential Worship The Song Sessions EP [Essential]
Hillsong Worship Take Heart (Again) [Capitol CMG]
Caitie Hurst At All Times - EP [Centricity]
JAG The Longest Road (Remastered) [Girder]
JAG The Only World In Town (Remastered) [Girder]
JAG Fire In the Temple (Remastered) [Girder]
Coby James Homesick - EP [Centricity]
JUDAH. Don't Know If I Believe It (feat. Jon Foreman) - Single [Capitol CMG]
Kings Kaleidoscope Power Perfect EP [Rainbow Records]
The Kingsmen The Wind and Waves Still Know - Single [Horizon]
Tori Kelly Tori Kelly Christmas [Capitol CMG]
LO Worship Compass - Single [LO Records]
My Epic Lower Still (feat. Levi The Poet) - Single [Facedown]
Passion Hope Has A Name [Capitol CMG]
Resistance Resistance EP [Integrity]
Social Club Misfits Feared By Hell [Capitol]
Tenth Avenue North Unplugged For The People (The Acoustic Greatest Hits) [Provident]
True Strength The Mighty Hand of Yahweh [Roxx]
We The Kingdom Light Of The World (Hallelujah) - Single [Capitol CMG]
Tauren Wells Famous For (I Believe) [Sunday A.M. Version] - Single [Provident]
Matthew West Live Before the World Shut Down - EP [Story House]


Next Monday, November 2, 2020
Manic Drive (Vol.1) EP (independent)


Next Friday, November 6, 2020
Cross Point Music Jesus Is King - Single [Centricity]
Open Heaven Triumph [DREAM]
Planetshakers Over It All [Ventur3Media]
Selah Step Into My Story [3Cre8tive]
Joel Vaughn Louder Than The Lies [DREAM]
Vineyard Worship You Speak [Vineyard]


For all release dates, click here!
 



Listen to the new single from Anthony Sallee!


  • Image Mulan
    PG-13 (Digital HD)


Enter to win the Lord of the Rings Trilogy 4K SteelBook!