Listen to the new album by Elias Dummer!
Listen to the new album from Elias Dummer!

JFH Staff Review

LOVECOLLIDE, Tired of Basic

Tired of Basic

Genre(s): Pop
Album length: 10 tracks: 31 minutes, 6 seconds
Street Date: April 13, 2018


You may have heard of LOVECOLLIDE before--after all, the sister duo from Hickory, North Carolina have been creating music since 2011, and they have already released two studio albums. What makes this latest album different, though, is that it marks Brooke and Lauren DeLeary's formal introduction to the music industry, with a new label (The Fuel Music) and new producers Matt Dally (Superchick) and Riley Friesen (Family Force 5, Group 1 Crew). Tired of Basic may be a much poppier effort than LOVECOLLIDE's previous albums, but it also proves to be their most daring album.

Album opener "Awake" comes out of the gate swinging, and it packs an urgent sonic punch, emphasizing the message in the lyrics: "once you come to faith / In everything you do / In every breath you take / There's no time to waste / Live like you're awake." The album continues to ride the wave of upbeat tunes, with the worshipful and eclectic "Undeniable," the experimental anthem of surrender "I Don't Want It," and my personal favorite, the super joyous and fun "IBIL" (which stands for "I Believe in Loud").

The most unique track on the album is "Take Me On," which brings to memory the account of Jacob wrestling with God in Genesis 32, with lyrics like "Take me on / Give me a new name my God / I need a heart change / Make something of my life when our worlds collide." The track makes effective use of distorted guitars and sound samples (you can hear breathing throughout the song) to convey the fight theme. The album itself takes a breather with the dreamy, ethereal "Maybe," a song that expresses doubt while still clinging to God. "Breaking My <3" is a song sung from God's perspective, conveying the pain God feels when a believer walks away and falls into ruin. Closer "X-Ordinary" sends the album out on a breezy, celebratory note, and it drives home the title of the album.

Tired of Basic has tight production that easily stands up to what is playing on mainstream secular radio, and the sisters' voices have never sounded better, but there's much more to this album than its catchy pop sound. Brooke and Lauren DeLeary are refreshingly vertical in their lyrical approach--there's no confusion here regarding who the sisters are singing about. The album not only exhorts the listener to dare to draw closer to God, but it also makes a call to action to live beyond the daily norm. If you're "tired of basic" Christian pop, give LOVECOLLIDE's latest a spin.

- Review date: 4/10/18, written by Nicole Vacca of

Get the new book by Tanner Olson!


. Record Label: Abs Entertainment / The Fuel Music
. Album length: 10 tracks: 31 minutes, 6 seconds
. Street Date: April 13, 2018
. Buy It: Apple Music
. Buy It: iTunes
. Buy It: (CD)

  1. Awake (3:07)
  2. Undeniable (3:48)
  3. I Don't Want It (2:58)
  4. Ibil (2:48)
  5. Take Me On (2:57)
  6. So What (3:08)
  7. Maybe (3:26)
  8. Breaking My <3 (3:00)
  9. Wildfire (2:52)
  10. X-Ordinary (3:02)
spacer Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics


 JFH Album Sample Player


Leave a Comment

comments powered by Disqus



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Get the new book by Tanner Olson!

Search JFH

This Friday, September 18, 2020
7eventh Time Down Questions - Single [BEC]
A Jesus Church Take Your Throne [BEC Worship]
Austin & Lindsey Adamec Can't Deny It - Single [Integrity]
Apollo LTD Better - Single [Centricity]
Cross Point Music Never Stop Singing - Single [Centricity]
Disciple Love Letter Kill Shot (Deluxe) [Tooth & Nail]
Fit for a King The Path [Solid State]
Austin French Wake Up Sleeper EP [Fair Trade]
Jordan Feliz Wounds - Single [Centricity]
Jason Gray Right On Time - Single [Centricity]
Koryn Hawthorne I AM [Provident]
Hulvey Otherside - Single [Reach]
Kari Jobe First Love (Live) EP [Capitol CMG]
Tasha Layton Into the Sea EP [BEC]
Ashlyn Levoy Something Better - Single [Centricity]
Local Sound Won't Let Go - Single [Running Club/Integrity]
Dr. James Mable Jr. The Journey 2.0 [eOne]
Evvie McKinney Look No Further - Single [Motown Gospel]
Chris Renzema Mercy - Single [Centricity]
REVERE REVERE (Live) [Integrity]
Seventh Day Slumber Unseen: The Lamb - EP [RockFest]
SongLab My Favorite (Live From South Eden) - Single [DREAM]

Next Friday, September 25, 2020
Landry Cantrell Glasshouse [DREAM]
Natalie Grant No Stranger [Curb/Word]
Coby James Infinite - Single [Centricity]
Bryon Juane Promise I'm Not Crazy EP [RMG]
KB His Glory Alone [HGA/Essential Sound]
Tasha Cobbs Leonard Royalty: Live At The Ryman [Motown Gospel]
Jessy Elsa Palma Jehovah - Single [Integrity]
Mr. Talkbox Playlist (independent)
PEABOD Wonderful & Scary - Single [Centricity]
Sarah Reeves Motions - Single [Curb/Word]
Slick Shoes Rotation & Frequency [Tooth & Nail]
WHATUPRG New Hollywood [Reach]

For all release dates, click here!

Listen to the new children's album from The Block Worship!

Listen to the new album from Radio Friendly!