Listen to the latest JFH Compilation!
Listen to the latest JFH Compilation!

JFH Staff Review

Brandon Heath, Give Me Your Eyes (The Acoustic Sessions)

Brandon Heath
Give Me Your Eyes (The Acoustic Sessions)

Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 4 tracks: 14 minutes, 16 seconds
Street Date: April 24, 2012 (iTunes only) / May 1, 2012

As music fans anticipate new releases from their favorite artists, the artists themselves are always looking for ways to keep their audiences engaged. One of those ways is by releasing acoustic albums and EPs, and successful singer/songwriter Brandon Heath has done just that. With Give Me Your Eyes (The Acoustic Sessions), Brandon strips down his already mellow songs into acoustic arrangements. The result is a raw and heartfelt, if not trite, package.

Production-wise, this EP is mixed very well; none of the instruments feel as if they're overpowering any of the songs. The four songs on here are a collection of some of his most recognized work that has been featured on previous recordings. "Give Me Your Eyes," "I'm Not Who I Was" and "Wait And See" are kept almost the same, utilizing some of the same instrumental pieces found on their original recordings.

The highlight on the EP is "Your Love;" the banjo featured throughout the song is a great addition, and it's nice to see that Heath added in a different instrument on that track. The main problem with this acoustic EP is that the songs sound too much like the originals. Due to the nature of Heath's musical style, this shouldn't come across as a surprise to listeners, but it would have been nice if he added in different elements, much like he did with "Your Love."

Die-hard Brandon Heath fans and individuals new to his music will most likely enjoy this EP. It's a great introduction into what his music sounds like, but for those who are familiar with Brandon's music and already possess his catalogue, they may want to pass on this one because of its similarity to what he's already released.

- Review date: 6/19/12, written by Cortney Warner of

Check out the new single from Mike Rathke!


. Record Label: Reunion Records
. Album length: 4 tracks: 14 minutes, 16 seconds
. Street Date: April 24, 2012 (iTunes only) / May 1, 2012
. Buy It: iTunes
. Buy It: AmazonMP3

  1. I'm Not Who I Was (Acoustic) (3:08)
  2. Give Me Your Eyes (Acoustic) (3:20)
  3. Wait And See (Acoustic) (4:13)
  4. Your Love (Acoustic) (3:35)






Leave a Comment



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Check out the new single from Mike Rathke!

Search JFH

This Thursday, March 26, 2020
Christafari Pandemic (Covid-19 Quarantine Anthem) - Single [Lion of Zion]
Jason Dunn Dopamine - Single (independent)
Jason Dunn The Victory - Single (independent)

This Friday, March 27, 2020
The Belonging Co Holy (Song of the Ages) (independent)
Tina Boonstra What is the Rush - Single [7Core]
Mack Brock Even the Impossible (Live) - Single [Sparrow/Capitol]
Dillon Chase Better - Single [DREAM]
David Dunn Perspectives [BEC]
Elevation Rhythm This Moment - Single (independent)
Equippers Revolution Where Your Spirit Is (Single) [DREAM]
GAWVI Climate Change (Single) [Reach]
Hillsong Young & Free Lord Send Revival - Single [Hillsong/Capitol]
Jesus Culture Gold (Live) feat. Bryan & Katie Torwalt (Single) [Sparrow]
Mission House Behold (Deluxe Single) [Integrity]
Nashville Life Music Shepherd (feat. Leeland) - Single [Integrity]
Rend Collective Choose to Worship [Rend Family/Capitol]
Michael W. Smith Aprirai una via (Way Maker) - Single [Rocketown/The Fuel]
Rhett Walker Good To Me [Provident/Sony]

Next Friday, April 3, 2020
August Burns Red Guardians [Fearless]
Equippers Revolution FRVR - EP [DREAM]
Greg LaFollette I'll Wait for you, My Love (independent)
Passion Roar (Live From Passion 2020) (CD) [Sixsteps]
RED Declaration [RED/The Fuel]
Ian Yates Mystery [7 Core]

For all release dates, click here!

Check out the new book from JFH Staff Member Tin Can Caldwell!

Listen to the new album from Mat Ogden!