Listen to the new album from City Psalms!
Listen to the new album from City Psalms!

JFH Staff Review

This Beautiful Republic

Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 13 tracks: 49 minutes, 21 seconds
Street Date: August 19, 2008

The 5-piece of This Beautiful Republic has enjoyed a fair degree of notoriety and success in their few years beyond Toledo, Ohio. A scant sixteen months since last year's Even Heroes Need a Parachute garnered such initial notoriety and good reviews, the band returns with Perceptions. The album's moniker conceptually bears a dual meaning- reflecting the band's experience as both fight and fun exist in pursuing music full-time… and that God's perception and our human acuity are divergent, and yet He is faithful.

Musically, TBR hovers between pop-rock and pop-punk, with a little emocore sensibility thrown in for flavor. Occasionally, a growl or yell will erupt through the melody- but always complimentary to the track it inhabits. As the echoed guitars bounce back and forth during the intro, "Pain" belies its intensity, coming off as typical pop-rock fare until about the one-minute mark. It's then that the band kicks in fully, and the song progresses up and down- from soaring vocals and heavy guitar chugging, back to empty interludes and tender melody. There could be no better track to introduce the record's underlying dichotomy. Beyond the opening shot comes "Surrender Saved My Life," a rock track complete with choral "whoa-oh-oh" to accompany the hook. Aaron Gillespie's cameo on "My God" fits the refrain extremely well, accentuating the tune's pseudo-hardcore aural sensibilities effortlessly, even though the song's energy isn't quite as potent as either band Gillespie is otherwise involved in (Underoath, The Almost).

The meditative songs are just as strong in terms of content, if not in vigor. "For the Life of Me" especially shines, as frontman Ben Olin declares "For the life of me/ Why'd You bear my chains?/ For the life of me/ Why'd You walk to Calvary?/ For the life of me/ I can't explain/ The reason You died, and the reason You came/ Just for the life of me… What do You see in me?/ I'm a leper, not a king…". It's honest worship- truly selfless utterance, and comes off neither as trite nor filler. Most of the album is lyrically picturesque- sometimes clever and emotionally explorative… so it's sad when the utterly average verses of songs like "Learning to Fall" become all the more noticeable.

Overall, Perceptions is a good collection of good songs. The witty lyrical turns are sometimes overshadowed by pretty standard composition, though, which is unfortunate considering This Beautiful Republic is soaked in potential. The message is accessible, the music is quality, and there's at least one inspiring moment (from either aspect) in every song. It's nothing groundbreaking, but the band is trying pretty hard to get there.

- Review date: 8/18/08, written by David Goodman of


JFH Staff's Second Opinion

Whenever a band releases their second album so quickly after their first, I always wonder if they're trying to ride the high of the previous album. So, with Perceptions coming out just 18 months after their debut, I got a little nervous. However, I'm happy to announce that this wasn't a quick-fix album; it delivers just as well - if not better - than the previous release. This Beautiful Republic displays a new facet of talent and diversity on Perceptions. They play perfect radio-friendly CCM type tunes in tracks like "For the Life of Me" and "Learning to Fall," both slower praise songs about our amazing God. But when you listen to "Last Second Chance" or "No Turning Back," you'll catch a slightly harder edge to the band; they even toss in a little screaming to mesh with the anthem style songs. Aaron Gillespie of Underoath actually appears on the album, which I wasn't expecting. To further add to the depth and diversity of the album, you'll notice piano and violin throughout Perceptions. Finally, the band shows good lyrical depth on the entire album, especially in "Change the World." Lyrics such as "my mind keeps wondering who I should be" show maturity in the band's writing. Overall, this is a very solid release, right down to the album art. - Kevin Hoskins of


. Record Label: Forefront Records
. Album length: 13 tracks: 49 minutes, 21 seconds
. Street Date: August 19, 2008
. Buy It:

  1. Pain
  2. Surrender Saved My Life
  3. Learning To Fall
  4. Beautifully Broken
  5. No Turning Back
  6. My God
  7. For The Life Of Me
  8. Last Second Chance
  9. Stay With You Tonight
  10. Change The World
  11. A Point Between Extremes
  12. The Ones
  13. Say Goodnight
spacer Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Check out the new album from Ovation Worship!

Search JFH

This Friday, February 21, 2020
Audrey Assad The Middle - Single (independent)
David & Nicole Binion Glory of Eden [Integrity]
Riley Clemmons Over and Over - Single [Capitol CMG]
Getty Music The Life of Christ Qunitology: Passion [Getty Music]
Grace Worship Christ Be All - Single [The Fuel]
Natalie Grant My Weapon - Single [Curb/Word]
Hillsong Young & Free Best Friends - Single [Capitol CMG]
Ellie Holcomb Sing: Remembering Songs EP (independent)
Hulvey BRKNHRT. EP [Reach]
Jordan and Jessa Glorious (independent)
North Point Worship Just Getting Started (feat: Lauren Anderson) / Nothing Else Matters (feat. Heath Balltzglier and Desi Raines) - Single [Centricity]
Chris Renzema 17 - Single [Centricity]
John Reuben John Reuben (independent)
Justin Rizzo Worship and Adore EP [Spotlight]
Angie Rose Infatuation (Acoustic) - Single [Capitol CMG]
Spoken The Way Back Home - Single [Capitol CMG]
Cade Thompson Provider - Single [Red Street]
Ian Yates Forgiven - Single [7 Core]

Next Friday, February 28, 2020
Paul Baloche Behold Him [Integrity]
Tina Boonstra Out of My Depth - Single [7 Core]
The Classic Crime Patterns in the Static (independent?)
Rob Graves Solstice (independent?)
Neon Feather Do or Die - Single [Centricity]
John Schlitt Go [Girder]

Next Saturday, February 29, 2020
20 lb Sledge Divine Battery [Roxx]
The Thomas Thompson Earth Project Dreamland Lovecraft [Roxx]

For all release dates, click here!

Check Out Five Twenty Collective!

Listen to the 100th Episode of the JFH Podcast!